Skip to main content

Search artworks

Premier of Queensland’s National New Media Art Award
Nov 2008 - Feb 2009

The Queensland Government and the Gallery congratulate Peter Alwast, winner of the inaugural Premier of Queensland's National New Media Art Award.

The award is Australia's most significant prize for new media art. Nine artists were short-listed for the biennial acquisitive award: Peter Alwast (QLD), Julie Dowling (WA), Anita Fontaine (QLD/The Netherlands), David Haines and Joyce Hinterding (NSW), Natalie Jeremijenko (QLD/United States), Adam Nash (VIC), Sam Smith (NSW), John Tonkin (NSW) and Mari Velonaki (NSW).

The Award exhibition showcases new works by each artist that express challenging and innovative approaches to the use of media including video, digital animation and gaming, computer-based art, artificial intelligence, and other sound and communication new media technologies.